Quinn & De Luca, LLC
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeNews/ChatSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in
This Forum is Currently Under Construction...

Greetings fellow Marines

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
culldsack
Board Noob
Board Noob
culldsack

Greetings fellow Marines Empty
PostSubject: Greetings fellow Marines   Greetings fellow Marines Empty12/25/2010, 23:43

I grew up in a rural area, during the summer I spent every weekend working in my parent's garden or in the fields on the farm and in the winter we cut wood to heat our house. Hard work was something I was brought up with.
When I graduated High School I decided I was going to go right to college, but each year I was there, I became less sure of what I wanted to do with my life and more ready for a change. I decided to join the Marine Corps. If you want to be a Marine you can't go into it thinking it might be something you want to do in the future, you have to jump into it. Two feet in, full force ahead. This is not a job, it's a vocation, it's a career, it's much more than anything else I've ever done.
I'm an 1803 (MOS) Amphibious Assault Officer. Essentially I'm in charge of the Marines who take the AAV from the ship to the shore and provide machine gun support to the infantry inland and wherever else they want to go. We can move anywhere inland into hostile territory where people may be shooting at you and travel up to 300 miles on a tank of gas. We have three Marines who are driving the vehicle and then about 20 infantrymen that you are supporting. You're in a hot sweaty environment for up to eight hours a day with all sorts of protective gear on, After that you'll come back to do about 2 hours of maintenance work to make sure your vehicle is ready for the next day. Then sleep for the night, get briefed and start all over again.